GATE 2027 correction window: what you can change
The GATE 2027 cycle
The brochure sets 21 October 2026 as the last date to change your GATE 2027 category, paper or city choices, add a paper, or fix personal details.
IAE Academy
Resource Centre
The official GATE 2027 Information Brochure gives one date for changing a submitted application: October 21, 2026. It is a single row in the Important Dates table on printed page 3, and it is worth reading in full. It reads: “Last date for change of Category, Paper and Examination City choices. Adding a new test paper, and change of personal details (additional fee may be applicable per change)”. Five separate things sit inside that one sentence — category, test paper, examination city choices, adding a new test paper, and personal details — and they all share the same deadline. The bracket about the fee is the brochure’s own wording, not a paraphrase, and the brochure prints no schedule of change fees anywhere else. The whole table carries the footnote “Dates mentioned above in the Table are liable to change.”
Source: GATE 2027 Information Brochure, p. 3, as on 19 September 2026
The dates on either side of the change deadline
- GATE Online Application Processing System (GOAPS) opens: To be Announced (TBA).
- GATE Online Application Processing System (regular) closes: September 27, 2026.
- End of extended period for GOAPS (with late fee): October 5, 2026.
- Last date for change of Category, Paper and Examination City choices, adding a new test paper, and change of personal details: October 21, 2026.
- Notification of Exam cities to the Candidates: January 04, 2027.
- Admit Cards download: To be Announced (TBA).
Source: GATE 2027 Information Brochure, p. 3, as on 19 September 2026
Some rows on printed page 3 show an older date struck through
Open that table in the PDF and several rows show more than one date, the earlier value with a line through it. The opening row prints August 14, 2026 and August 27, 2026 struck through, above a live value of “To be Announced (TBA)”. The regular closing row prints September 21, 2026 struck through, above September 27, 2026. The extended-period row prints September 30, 2026 struck through, above October 5, 2026. The change row behaves differently: October 21, 2026 stands on its own, with nothing struck through above it. The same pairs of period dates reappear in the application fee table, Table 5 on printed page 14, and there the strike-throughs are white rules on a dark header, so they are far easier to miss. Three of the four ranges in that header are struck: the Regular Period column shows both “(Aug 14 – Sep 21, 2026)” and “(Aug 27 – Sep 27, 2026)” struck through, leaving that column with no unstruck range at all, which matches page 3 leaving the GOAPS opening at TBA; the Extended Period column shows “(Sep 22 – Sep 30, 2026)” struck through above a live “(Sep 28 – Oct 5, 2026)”. That table carries its own footnote, “Dates are subject to change.”
Sources: GATE 2027 Information Brochure, p. 3, as on 19 September 2026; GATE 2027 Information Brochure, p. 14, as on 19 September 2026
What the October 21 deadline covers
The five changes named in the Important Dates row, and two things the brochure says will not be changed
| What you can change | Deadline | Where it is done | What the brochure says about the fee |
|---|---|---|---|
| Category | October 21, 2026 | Not stated in the brochure | “additional fee may be applicable per change” |
| Test paper choice | October 21, 2026 | Not stated in the brochure | Same bracket; no rate is printed |
| Examination city choices | October 21, 2026 | Not stated in the brochure | Same bracket; no rate is printed |
| Adding a new test paper | October 21, 2026 | Not stated in the brochure | Same bracket. The brochure separately states that the fee for two papers is twice that of one |
| Personal details | October 21, 2026 | Not stated in the brochure | Same bracket; no rate is printed |
| Email address or mobile number | No change “at a later stage” | Fixed at registration | No fee printed; no change is offered |
| Centre, location or date and time on the Admit Card | Requests “will not be entertained” | Not offered | No fee printed; no change is offered |
Source: The five change items and the October 21, 2026 date are one row of the Important Dates table, printed page 3 of the GATE 2027 Information Brochure (IIT Madras), read 19 September 2026; that table is footnoted “Dates mentioned above in the Table are liable to change.” The quoted fee wording is from that same row. “Not stated in the brochure” means the brochure prints the deadline but never names the channel through which such a change is made — see the section below. The email and mobile number row is printed page 14; the Admit Card row is printed page 9; the two-paper fee statement appears on printed pages 9 and 14.
The brochure prints the deadline but not the mechanism
Section 6.4.2 on printed page 14 lists what the GATE Online Application Processing System enables a candidate to do: register and enrol; upload photograph, signature, photo ID and certificates; pay the application fee; check the status of the application form; download the Admit Card; view answers, marks and GATE score; and download the score card. Editing a submitted application is not on that list. Printed page 15 is firmer still. After advising candidates to check the filled-in form by clicking “Save and View Application”, it states that once the candidate clicks “Submit and Proceed to Payment”, no changes can be made to the application. So the brochure describes a form that locks at payment, and separately prints a date up to which category, paper, city choices and personal details can be changed, without printing how those two facts meet. The conservative reading is the safe one: fill the form as though it is final, and watch the official GATE 2027 website, which the brochure tells candidates to check frequently for updates, for whatever facility is opened ahead of October 21.
Sources: GATE 2027 Information Brochure, p. 14, as on 19 September 2026; GATE 2027 Information Brochure, p. 15, as on 19 September 2026
Two things the brochure will not change at all
The first is how you are contacted. Printed page 14 states that only one person can register with one email address, and that no change in email or mobile number will be entertained at a later stage. That matters more than it looks, because defect notices go out by email or SMS/WhatsApp. The second is the Admit Card. Printed page 9 states that requests for change in the Centre or Location or Date/Time specified in the Admit Card will not be entertained. Your city entries are preferences the GATE Committee may override; once the Admit Card is issued, there is no request left to make. How the three-cities-one-zone rule works is set out at /guide/gate-2027-exam-city-choice.
Sources: GATE 2027 Information Brochure, p. 9, as on 19 September 2026; GATE 2027 Information Brochure, p. 14, as on 19 September 2026
Defect rectification runs on a different clock
Section 6.9 of the brochure, Application Scrutiny and Rectification, sits on printed page 21 and describes a second window that is not the October 21 one and carries no printed date at all. GATE 2027 applications are scrutinised for accuracy of the data, which includes verification against the uploaded supporting documents and the clarity of the photograph and signature. If everything is found to be in order, the application is accepted. Otherwise, in the brochure’s words, the defects will be marked and intimated to the candidate by email or SMS/WhatsApp for rectification within a stipulated time frame. The brochure does not say how long that time frame is, so it cannot be planned for in advance — only watched for. The status of an application is updated after scrutiny by the respective coordinating GATE offices, and can be checked at any time by logging into the application portal. Candidates must promptly rectify the defects within the stipulated time, and the brochure advises logging in and checking the status of defects regularly.
Source: GATE 2027 Information Brochure, p. 21, as on 19 September 2026
The scrutiny path, stage by stage
| Stage | What the brochure says | How you are told | What you must do |
|---|---|---|---|
| Scrutiny | Applications are scrutinised for accuracy of the data, including verification against uploaded documents and clarity of photograph and signature | Status is updated after scrutiny by the coordinating GATE office | Log in to the portal and check the status |
| Found in order | “The application will be accepted” | Status shown in the portal | Nothing further |
| Defects found | Defects “will be marked and intimated to the candidate … for rectification within a stipulated time frame” | By email or SMS/WhatsApp | Rectify promptly, within the stipulated time |
| Watching the status | Status values named are Received, Under scrutiny, Accepted, Defect status, Status after rectification, and Rejected with valid reasons | The portal only | Check regularly, as the brochure advises |
Source: Rows 1 to 3 are section 6.9, Application Scrutiny and Rectification, printed page 21 of the GATE 2027 Information Brochure (IIT Madras), read 19 September 2026; the quoted phrases are the brochure’s own. The status values in row 4 are from the section 6.4.2 list on printed page 14 of what the GATE Online Application Processing System lets a candidate do. The brochure prints no length for the “stipulated time frame”, and this table adds none.
Check these against your documents before the window shuts
- The name in the application form must be exactly the same as the name in the valid photo ID you will produce in original at the centre, and the GATE 2027 scorecard is issued as per the name entered in the form (printed page 15).
- The date of birth in the form should match the one in the photo ID exactly (printed page 15).
- Prefixes and titles such as Mr, Shri, Dr, Mrs, Smt or Prof must not be used before the name (printed page 15).
- The photograph and signature are checked for clarity at scrutiny, and the Admit Card is valid only if the candidate’s photograph and signature are clear (printed page 21). The specifications themselves are at /guide/gate-photo-signature-rejection.
- All three examination city entries must come from the same GATE 2027 zone, and the first choice fixes the zone — it also fixes which zonal GATE office answers your queries (printed pages 11 and 21).
- If you are applying for two test papers, the combination must come from the list in Table 4, which the brochure marks tentative and subject to change (printed pages 11 and 13).
Sources: GATE 2027 Information Brochure, p. 11, as on 19 September 2026; GATE 2027 Information Brochure, p. 13, as on 19 September 2026; GATE 2027 Information Brochure, p. 15, as on 19 September 2026; GATE 2027 Information Brochure, p. 21, as on 19 September 2026
Changing a paper is not the same as choosing a section
For the sectional papers, the section decision and the paper decision happen at different moments, and only one of them sits behind the October 21 deadline. For the Humanities and Social Sciences paper, the brochure states that the choice of section from XH1 to XH6 must be made while filling the online application form, and that candidates cannot request a change of section during the examination. For Engineering Sciences and Life Sciences the opposite holds: the choice of sections from XE1 to XE9, and from XL1 to XL5, can be made during the examination after viewing the questions. The Important Dates row names Category, Paper and Examination City choices; it does not name sections separately, so an XH candidate should treat the section as part of the application and settle it before submitting.
Sources: GATE 2027 Information Brochure, p. 3, as on 19 September 2026; GATE 2027 Information Brochure, p. 25, as on 19 September 2026
What to do between now and October 21
Read your own submitted form against the six checks above, today rather than in the third week of October, because the only remedy the brochure describes for anything found later is a defect notice you cannot schedule. Keep the registered email address and mobile number live and monitored, since both the defect notice and the change of status arrive there. Log in to the portal periodically and read the status field rather than waiting to be told. And treat every date here as provisional, because the brochure marks its own dates liable to change and its two-paper combinations tentative. The registration dates, application fee, eligibility rules and score validity are set out in full at /resources/gate-2027-application-checklist and /resources/gate-2027-eligibility, both built from this same brochure; the question types and negative marking are at /guide/gate-2027-exam-pattern-and-marking.
Sources: GATE 2027 Information Brochure, p. 3, as on 19 September 2026; GATE 2027 Information Brochure, p. 21, as on 19 September 2026
From the Resource Centre
GATE 2027 application checklist
Every date, fee and eligibility rule for the GATE 2027 application, from the official GATE portal and brochure, as on 5 September 2026.
GATE 2027GATE 2027 eligibility: who can apply
Who is eligible for GATE 2027, from the official table: the undergraduate floor is the third year, but M.Sc., M.A., M.C.A. and post-B.Sc. integrated M.E./M.Tech. students are eligible from the first year.
GATE 2027GATE 2027 Official Syllabus — All Papers
The official GATE 2027 syllabus, all 30 papers. Know the exact topics, sections and weightage before you plan a single day of prep. The new Robotics and Automation (RA) paper is not in this set yet.
GATE 2027Next step
Common questions
What is the last date to change my GATE 2027 paper or exam city?+
Can I add a second test paper after submitting my GATE 2027 form?+
Will I have to pay extra to change my GATE 2027 application?+
Can I change my email address or mobile number after registering for GATE 2027?+
What happens if there is a defect in my GATE 2027 application?+
Can I change my exam centre after the GATE 2027 admit card is out?+
IAE Academy
Resource Centre